On the morning of November 3, the 2020 National Science and Technology Awards Conference was grandly held in the Great Hall of the People in Beijing. Academician Gu Songfen of Aviation Industry Corporation of China and Academician Wang Dazhong of Tsinghua University won the highest national science and technology award. Academician Wang Dazhong is an internationally renowned nuclear energy scientist, strategic scientist, and educator.



Academician Wang Dazhong has worked in the field of advanced nuclear energy technology research and development for decades. He presided over the research, design, construction and operation of the world’s first 5 MW shell-type integrated low-temperature nuclear heating reactor. He presided over the research and development and construction the world’s first 10-MW modular pebble bed high-temperature gas-cooled experimental reactor with inherent safety features. He actively promote the application of the above two advanced reactor technologies. Academician Wang Dazhong led the nuclear energy research team of Tsinghua University to improve the safety of nuclear energy as the main academic philosophy, and walked out the road to success of China's advanced nuclear energy technology with inherent safety as the main feature from following and running side-by-side to leading the world. Academician Wang Dazhong has won the first prize of National Science and Technology Progress twice (both are the first completers), the special prize of Science and Technology Progress of the State Education Commission, the He Liang-Heli Science and Technology Progress Award, the special prize of National Teaching Achievement, and the National "May 1st Labor Medal", and many other honors.(News source: Xinhuanet)